August Product Review

This month I have purchased a few new makeup products to add to my ever-growing collection.

August Purchases
Benefit Erase Paste, Too Faced Better Than Sex & Nyx Lip Butter

Benefit Erase Paste Concealer

Erase Paste concealer is has a creamy consistency that blends well but can also be built up for more coverage on blemishes. I especially love how well this product erases any dark circles and  I would say this is the best under eye concealer I have had in a while! The melon undertones compliment my fair skin and helps brighten the eye area. I find due to the pinkness of the colouring I need a powder applied all over the face to seamlessly blend it as I don’t like to wear foundation every day.

IMG_3091
Benefit Erase Paste in Fair

A major drawback for Erase Paste is the product packaging – I seriously dislike it! In comes in a screw-lid tub and you are provided with a little spoon to extract the amount of product you need. Not only is this fiddly and annoying but it also makes it harder to maintain good hygiene with the concealer which is essential when using products that are directly applied onto acne or blemishes. Although it’s a paste I think it would be much better packaged in dispensers used for liquid concealers to ensure easier access. As this does have quite a pink/melon undertone it is not one I would recommend buying online without trying in store first to ensure it suits your individual colouring. Overall, I do love this concealer especially for covering up any evidence of late nights and fatigue under my eyes!

 

Too Faced ‘Better Than Sex’ Mascara

Having run out of mascara and finding myself in Mecca Maxima the other day I spotted ‘Better Than Sex’ in the Too Faced section and knew I had to try it. This mascara promised big results – 1,994 % more volume and 100% of testers reporting visibly longer lashes. At $31.95 it was the same price as my tried and tested Benefit ‘Bad Gal’ mascara so I figured why not?

Better Than Sex

I have not been disappointed with my decision, the curved brush is great for reaching all lashes and the collagen boosted formula allows you to build up your lashes to achieve a dramatic look.’Better Than Sex’ is quite a wet formula so be careful how much product is on your brush when you first start applying before you start to build up the volume. I personally think it’s a better mascara than both Benefit ‘Bad Gal’ and “They’re Real’. It’s long lasting and my lashes look as great as the end of the day as they do after a fresh coat in the morning. I have found my new favourite mascara and can see myself being a repeat purchaser of this one.

 

Nyx Butter Gloss

Butter Gloss
Nyx Butter Gloss in Peach Cobbler

I am much more of a lipstick kind of girl rather than gloss but having read many positive things from other beauty obsessed girls overseas I was excited once Target started to stock Nyx in Australia. I am hesitant about buying drugstore makeup as often it does not meet expectations or perform as well as department store brands. So I decided to start out small when trialling Nyx and first bought a Butter Gloss in ‘Creme Brûlée’ and absolutely loved it. When passing Target yesterday I decided to see if they had a shade to match the orange lipsticks I have been wearing lately (Mac ‘Vegas Volt’) to add a little shine to the matte look. I settled on ‘Peach Cobbler’ and I love it!

IMG_3073
Nyx Butter Gloss in Peach Cobbler

Worn by itself it has surprisingly more colour pigmentation than I expected and is similar to a lip tint it also smells delicious. It’s a non-sticky gloss which I love and worn over the top of a matte lipstick it helps it last a little longer and prevents the drying out effect than can sometimes happen. So far I have loved Nyx products and will definitely be branching out and trying more of their products soon! Their eyeliner and brow pencils in particular have caught my attention.

Have any of you tried these products, if so what did you think? Comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

